Home » Blog » Cruise Holiday Tips » South American Cruise Holidays

South American Cruise Holidays


South America offers travellers a range of cruise destinations. From the glitter of Rio and Buenos Aires to the penguins and whales of the Straits of Magellan, to the Amazon and the Galapagos. South America is a destination of opposites, and one of the most exciting destinations in the world. 

Learn More About How to Choose Your Cruise Holiday

Types of South American Cruises

There are three main types of South America Cruises:

1. Amazon River Cruises

2. Specialty Cruises

3. Explorer Cruises

Cruise Seasons

Major cruise lines visit this continent between September and March. For cruises that sail round Cape Horn this is the southern summer and in general cruise ships that do South American itineraries return to Europe or Alaska for the northern summer cruise season. Specialty cruises operate year round.

Getting to your South American Cruise

Air New Zealand’s direct service from Auckland to Buenos Aires is one of the best options available. Business Class special offers to South America do provide the option of greater comfort.

Something Special – Silversea Galapagos

Ultra luxury cruise line Silversea Cruises has its special purpose ship The Silver Galapagos permanently stationed in the Galapagos Islands.